Different Trains / Electric Counterpoint – Steve Reich

Host: Wilcox

I heard it a lot growing up cuz my sister was really into it, and make no mistake, it’s some artsy shit. It’s two pieces, each with three parts back to back. All I can say is, if you’re feeling worn out and fed up some time during track 2, keep going. The 2nd half of the whole thing is much easier to listen to. I kinda wanted to pick something that would be more new/new-exciting to me, but I think this will generate good discussion and test the boundaries, so iz good. I’ll save the rest of my stories for when we talk. It is modern classical-ish, so you’ve been warned.

Artist: Steve Reich with Kronos Quartet (Different Trains) and Pat Metheny (Electric Counterpoint)

Album: Different Trains / Electric Counterpoint

Release Date: 1989

Track Listing:

Different Trains

  1. America-Before the War (Movement 1)
  2. Europe-During the War (Movement 2)
  3. After the War (Movement 3)

Electric Counterpoint

  1. Fast (Movement 1)
  2. Slow (Movement 2)
  3. Fast (Movement 3)

Leave a comment